Allsvenskan: Hammarby IF | Team Preview

Hammarby IF will visit Norrporten Arena as they will face IFK Norrköping in their opening match of the 2017 Allsvenskan season.

Hammarby IF is a Swedish football club based in the Swedish capital, Stockholm. Hammarby finished on an eleventh place in last season’s Allsvenskan, a very disappointing result for the club.

They managed to win ten and draw nine matches, collecting overall 39 points. Hammarby suffered defeat in eleven match. Bajen, Hammarby’s nickname, managed to score 46 and concede 49 goals

Erik Israelsson was Hammarby’s top goalscorer in the 2016 Allsvenskan with his ten goals. A big success for Erik Israelsson, who signed for the Dutch football club PEC Zwolle in the 2017 January Transfer Window for an undisclosed fee. Erik Israelsson became also Bajen’s assist king with his four assists.

– Founded: 1915
– Ground: Tele2 Arena (Capacity: 33,000)
– Chairman: Richard von Yxkull
– Coach: Jakob Michelsen

This football club was founded in 1889 as Hammarby Roddförening (ENG: “Hammarby Rowing Association”) with the engineer Axel Robert Schönthal being the clubs first ever chairman. By 1897, it had diversified into different sports, and was renamed Hammarby Idrottsförening (ENG: “Hammarby Sports Club”), or Hammarby IF for short. In 1915, the club established a football division when it merged with Klara SK. In 1918, Hammarby IF merged with Johanneshovs IF.

Hammarby IF have won the Swedish football league, Allsvenskan, just once in 2001. In 2003 Allsvenskan the club finished second, and participated in the second qualifying stage and first rounds of the 2004/2005 UEFA Cup.

In 2006 Allsvenskan, Hammarby placed third overall and advanced to the UEFA Intertoto Cup, where they won their third round match, which advanced the team to the second qualifying and first rounds of the 2007/2008 UEFA Cup.

– Champions (1): 2001.
– Runners-up (1): 1982, 2003.

Division 1 Norra
– Champions (3): 1989, 1993, 1997.
– Runners-up (1): 1996.

Division 2 Östra
– Champions (1): 1991.

Svenska Cupen
– Runners-up (3): 1977, 1983, 2010.

UEFA Intertoto Cup
– Champions (1): 2007.



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s